University, free entry
St Margaret's Road,
St Hugh's neo-Georgian facade facing the 14 acres of garden, is now flanked by more modern buildings. The chapel was designed by Lawrence Whistler. The first Principal, Annie Moberly, is remembered through her book, 'An Adventure', which recounts the experience, with Eleanor Jourdain, of finding herself in the 18th century when visiting le Petit Trianon, at Versailles.
Famous former students include: Barbara Castle, who founded the Open University (still flourishing up the hill at Cumnor) and introduced the brethalyser; the historical writer, Mary Renault; and the Burmese political Nobel Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi.
Advance booking is required for groups of six or more.
MAIN ENTRANCE - 2 steps ; QUADS - available ; HALL - Level ; CHAPEL - inaccessible
Oxford Visitor Information
Tel: +44(0)1865 252200
Fax: +44(0)1865 240261